The Tipton County School System is one of the largest systems in the state of Tennessee. The system provides a modern, progressive school system that constantly strives to meet the needs of the community and each of the 11,000 students currently enrolled. We also rank 3rd in service burden, which means that out of 145 school systems, we have one of the highest percentages of school-aged children in the state - over 25% of our total population. There are six elementary schools which are located in Atoka, Brighton, Covington (two), Drummonds and Munford. There are three middle schools and three high schools located in Brighton, Covington and Munford. The Covington Integrated Arts Academy is open to students Pre-K through 8th grade.

Our mission is to instill hope, inspire confidence, and prepare students to be productive and successful, while our vision is to be one team providing an excellent education for every student.

Led by our school board, we strive to meet the following goals:

Focus on Every Student

Invest in our People

Partner with our Community

School Listings

School listings and informational links are provided below. For additional information on education in the state of Tennessee, please visit

Tipton County Schools

Tipton County Board of Education
Superintendent: Dr. John Combs
P. O. Box 486, 1580 Hwy. 51S
Covington, TN 38019
901-476-7148, fax 901-476-4870

Tipton County Preschool (3-5)
Principal: Farrah Cope
474 Academic Drive
Covington, TN 38019

Atoka Elementary School
Principal: Dr. Rebekah Byrd
870 Rosemark Road
Atoka, TN 38004
901-837-5650, fax 901-837-5662

Austin Peay Elementary
Principal: Mrs. Jill McIntyre
474 Academic Drive
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-5121, fax 901-475-2793

Brighton Elementary
Principal: Brooke Shipley (K-5)
1201 Old Hwy. 51
Brighton, TN 380119
901-837-5865, fax 901-837-5879

Brighton Middle
Principal: Sabrina Sneed-Matthews (6-8)
7785 Hwy. 51 South 
Brighton, TN 38011
901-837-5600, fax 901-837-5625

Brighton High
Principal: Christi Huffman (9-12)
8045 Hwy. 51 South
Brighton, TN 38011
901-837-5800, fax 901-837-5829

Crestview Elementary
Principal: Anne Adams (K-4)
151 Mark A. Walker Blvd.
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-5925, fax, 901-475-5938

Crestview Middle
Principal: Steve Maclin (5-8)
201 Mark A. Walker Blvd.
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-5900, Fax, 901-475-2607

Covington High
Principal: Mark McClain
803 South College
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-5876, fax 901-475-5778

Covington Integrated Arts Academy
Principal: Autrell Williams (K-8)
760 Bert Johnston
Covington, TN 38019
901-476-1444, fax 901-475-2786

Drummonds Elementary
Principal: Patricia Mills (K-5)
5068 Drummonds Rd.
P. O. Box 178
Drummonds, TN 38023
901-835-3571, fax 835-5799

Munford Elementary
Principal Varissa Richardson (K-5)
1200 McLaughlin Drive
Munford, TN 38058
901-837-0152, fax 901-837-5778

Munford Middle
Principal: Vicki Shipley (6-8)
100 Education Avenue
Munford, TN 38058
901-837-1700, fax 901-837-5749

Munford High
Principal: Dr. Courtney Fee (9-12)
1080 McLaughlin Drive
Munford, TN 38058
901-837-5701, fax 901-837-5729


Private Schools


Tipton Rosemark Academy
Headmaster: John Scott
8696 Rosemark Rd.
Millington, TN 38053
901-829-4221, fax 829-4292

Tipton Christian Academy
Director: Lisa Blalack
2105 Hwy. 59 South
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-4990, fax 901-475-4930


Colleges and Universities

Tennessee College of Applied Technology
1600 Hwy. 51 South
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-2526, fax 901-475-2528

Dyersburg State Community College
3149 Hwy. 51 South
Covington, TN 38019
901-475-3100, fax 901-475-3131